Courant Institute New York University FAS CAS GSAS

Magneto-Fluid Dynamics Division: People

MFD Division


Listed below are the members of the Magneto-Fluid Dynamics Division of the Department of Mathematics. 

The Division Director is  Harold Weitzner.


Antoine Cerfon
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Magnetohydrodynamics in fusion and astrophysical plasmas, nonneutral plasmas, kinetic theory in plasmas and rarefied gases

Harold Weitzner
Professor of Mathematics
, Director of MFD Division
Fluid dynamics; differential equations


Joshua Burby
Post-doctoral researcher / ORISE Fellow
Infinite dimensional Hamiltonian systems, mathematical foundations of gyrokinetic theory, stochastic Hamiltonian modeling, structure-preserving asymptotics

Lise-Marie Imbert-Gérard
Post-doctoral researcher
Modeling Reflectometry in fusion plasmas; Mathematical study of the
corresponding models; Numerical simulation for Reflectometry applications; Numerical analysis of corresponding methods; Fast solvers ;

Lee Ricketson
Courant Instructor
Numerical methods for kinetic equations, especially in plasma physical applications; Monte Carlo methods; stochastic differential equations; numerical analysis

Tonatiuh Sanchez-Vizuet
Post-doctoral researcher
Numerical analysis and scientific computing; Time-domain boundary integral
equations; Integral equation methods for wave propagation; continuous and
discontinuous Galerkin methods; Coupling schemes for multiphysics

Wrick Sengupta
Post-doctoral researcher
3D magnetohydrodynamic equilibrium, 3D magnetic geometries relevant to magnetic confinement, reduced kinetic and fluid models of plasma, Hamiltonian and vorticity dynamics in rarefied gases and plasmas.



Daisy Calderon-Mojar
Administrative Aide


Jeffrey P. Freidberg
Associate Director, Plasma Science and Fusion Center, M.I.T.
Korea Electric Power Professor of Nuclear Science and Engineering



Eliezer Hameiri, a long time professor in the MFD division at the Courant Institute, sadly passed away in June 2016.