Faculty Recognition

The Department's faculty have received many diverse awards for their scientific research and service to the community at large. Prizes from professional societies, foundations, and government organizations provide one form of recognition. Election to elite scientific societies serves as another type of recognition. Several members of the faculty have also been active in the governance of scientific organizations or have served on committees that guide national science policy. A partial list of our scientific awards can be found in the Scientific Recognition table below.

Our faculty is dedicated to teaching as well as to research. A partial list of awards in recognition of excellence in the classroom can be found in the Academic Distinction table below.


Scientific Distinction


Faculty award recipients in scientific distinction
Abel Prize: Mikhael Gromov, Peter Lax, Louis Nirenberg, S. R. Srinivasa Varadhan
Academia Sinica, Beijing: Peter Lax (1993)
American Academy of Arts and Sciences Members: Gérard Ben Arous (2015), Marsha Berger (2011), Russ Caflisch (2012), Sylvain Cappell (2018), Jeff Cheeger (2006), Percy Deift (2003), Leslie Greengard (2016), Bob Kohn (2017), Peter Lax (1966), Fang-Hua Lin (2004), Andrew J. Majda (2010), David McLaughlin (2000), Henry McKean (1964), Charles Newman (2006), Louis Nirenberg (1965), Charles Peskin (1994), Sylvia Serfaty (2019), Jalal Shatah (2010), Michael Shelley (2019), K. R. Sreenivasan (1997), S. R. Srinivasa Varadhan (1988), Margaret Wright (2001), Lai-Sang Young (2004), Ofer Zeitouni (2019)
American Mathematical Society Fellows: Russ Caflisch (2013), Sylvain E. Cappell (2013), Jeff Cheeger (2013), Percy Deift (2013), Harold M. Edwards (2013), Robert V. Kohn (2013), Peter D. Lax (2013), Fanghua Lin (2015), Erwin Lutwak (2013), Andrew J. Majda (2013), Henry P. McKean, Jr. (2013), David Mclaughlin (2013), Charles M. Newman (2013), Louis Nirenberg (2013), Charles S. Peskin (2013), Joel Spencer (2013), Yuri Tschinkel (2013), Srinivasa S.R. Varadhan (2013), Olof Widlund (2019), Margaret H. Wright (2013), Deane Yang (2013), Gaoyong Zhang (2013)
American Physical Society Fellows: W. Stephen Childress, Michael Shelley, K. R. Sreenivasan, Daniel Stein, Jun Zhang
American Physical Society George E. Valley, Jr. Prize: Leif Ristroph
Association for the Advancement of Science: Bud Mishra, Daniel Stein, Yuri Tschinkel
Association for Computing Machinery Fellows: Bud Mishra
Balzan Prize in Mathematics: Mikhael Gromov
George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics (AMS and SIAM): Cathleen Morawetz, Charles Peskin, S.R. Srinivasa Varadhan
Bocher Prize (AMS): Fang-Hua Lin, Louis Nirenberg
Chauvenet Prize (AMS): Peter Lax
Chern Medal: Louis Nirenberg
Julian Cole Lectureship (SIAM): Michael Shelley
Crafoord Prize: Louis Nirenberg
Germund Dahlquist Prize (SIAM): Eric Vanden-Eijnden
Fermat Prize: Nader Masmoudi (2017)
Finnish Academy of Sciences and Letter: Jeff Cheeger
Lester R. Ford Award (MAA): David McLaughlin, Cathleen Morawetz
Francois Frenkiel Award (APS): Michael Shelley
French Academy of Sciences: Mikhael Gromov, Peter Lax (Foreign Associate)
German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina Member: Yuri Tschinkel
Guggenheim Fellowships: Simeon M. Berman, Sylvain Cappell, Jeff Cheeger, Steve Childress, Percy A. Deift, Charles Newman, Louis Nirenberg, K. R. Sreenivasan, Lai-Sang Young
Hungarian Academy of Sciences: Peter Lax, Lai-Sang Young
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Fellows: Bhubaneswar Mishra (2009)
Institute of Medicine Members: Charles Peskin
Ralph E. Kleinman Award (SIAM): Robert Kohn
Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture (AWM-SIAM): Lai-Sang Young
Kyoto Prize in Basic Science: Mikhael Gromov
Lagrange Prize (ICIAM): Andrew J. Majda (2015)
MacArthur Foundation Fellowship: Charles Peskin (1983)
Mayor's Award for Excellence in Science and Technology: Charles Peskin
National Academy of Engineering Members: Marsha Berger (2005), Leslie Greengard (2006), K. R. Sreenivasan (1999), Margaret Wright (1997)
National Academy of Inventors (NAI) Fellows: Bhubaneswar Mishra (2017)
National Academy of Sciences Award in Applied Mathematics and Numerical Analysis: Kurt Otto Friedrichs (1972), Paul R. Garabedian (1998), Peter D. Lax (1983), Andrew J. Majda (1992)
National Academy of Sciences Members: Fedor Bogomolov (2022), Michael J. Shelley (2022), Marsha Berger (2000), Russ Caflisch (2019), Jeff Cheeger (1997), Percy Deift (2009), Leslie Greengard (2006), Mikhael Gromov (1989), Peter Lax (1970), Andrew Majda (1994), Henry McKean (1980), David McLaughlin (2002), Charles Newman (2004), Louis Nirenberg (1969), Charles Peskin (1995), K. R. Sreenivasan (2007), S.R. Srinivasa Varadhan (1995), Margaret Wright (2005)
NASA Software of the Year: Marsha Berger
National Medal of Science: Peter Lax, Cathleen Morawetz, Louis Nirenberg, S. R. Srinivasa Varadhan
Packard Foundation Fellowships: Leslie Greengard
Max Planck Research Prize: Jeff Cheeger
Poincaré Chair laureates (IHP/CMI): Paul Bourgade (2018/2019)
Henri Poincaré Prize (IAMP): Percy Deift (2018)
George Polya Prize (AMS/SIAM): Percy Deift
NSF PYI, NYI, PFF, CAREER, and PECASE Awards: Marsha Berger, Antoine Cerfon, Aleksandar Donev, Jonathan Goodman, Leslie Greengard, David Holland, Miranda Holmes-Cerfon, Fang-Hua Lin, Olivier Pauluis, Leif Ristroph (2019), Tamar Schlick, Sylvia Serfaty, Jalal Shatah, Michael Shelley, Eric Vanden-Eijnden, Denis Zorin
Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics: Lai-Sang Young
Simons Investigators: Sylvia Serfaty (2018)
Sloan Research Fellowships: Russ Caflisch, Sylvain Cappell, Jeff Cheeger, Yu Chen, Jonathan Goodman, Sinan Gunturk, Robert Kohn, Fang-Hua Lin, Andrew J. Majda, Nader Masmoudi, Charles Newman, Louis Nirenberg, Tamar Schlick, Sylvia Serfaty, Jalal Shatah, Daniel Stein, Esteban Tabak, Eric Vanden-Eijnden, Lai-Sang Young, Denis Zorin
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Fellows: Marsha Berger (2009), Russ Caflisch (2009), Leslie Greengard (2009), Bob Kohn (2009), Peter Lax (2009), Andrew J. Majda (2009), David McLaughlin (2009), Michael Overton (2009), Charlie Peskin (2009), John Rinzel (2013), Michael Shelley (2009), Joel Spencer (2017), S.R. Srinivasa Varadhan (2009), Olof Widlund (2010), Margaret Wright (2009)
Soviet Academy of Sciences: Peter Lax
Leroy P. Steele Prize (AMS): Jeff Cheeger, Leslie Greengard, Mikhael Gromov, Robert Kohn, Peter Lax, Andrew Majda, Cathleen Morawetz, Louis Nirenberg
Oswald Veblen Prize (AMS): Jeff Cheeger, Mikhael Gromov
John von Neumann Lecture (SIAM): Andrew J. Majda (1990), Margaret Wright (2019)
Norbert Wiener Prize in Applied Mathematics (AMS/SIAM): Peter Lax (1975), Andrew Majda (2013), Marsha Berger (2019)
Wolf Prize: Mikhael Gromov (1993), Peter Lax (1987)
Elected to European Academy of Sciences: Sylvia Serfaty


Academic Distinction


Faculty award recipients in academic distinction
NYU Alumni Association Great Teacher Award: Charles S. Peskin (1999)
NYU Golden Dozen Award: Frederick P. Greenleaf, Selin Kalaycioglu (2014), Joel Spencer (2007), Esteban Tabak
Silver Professorships: Marsha Berger, Fedor Bogomolov, Sylvain Cappell, Jeff Cheeger, Percy Deift, Leslie Greengard, Robert Kohn, Fang-Hua Lin, Henry McKean, David McLaughlin, Charles Newman, Michael Overton, Charles Peskin, Sylvia Serfaty, Joel Spencer, Olof Widlund, Margaret Wright
Margaret and Herman Sokol Faculty Award in the Sciences: Marsha Berger, Leslie Greengard, Andrew Majda, Charles Peskin, S. R. Srinivasa Varadhan